Translation & localisation

Translation is done exclusively into the translator’s mother tongue (in this case, French) from languages over which they have extremely good command (in this case, English and Italian). That is why we talk of translation from Italian and English into French.

A translator must be a complete expert in the language in which he or she writes in order to avoid misunderstandings, mistakes and errors. If you do require a translation from French, however, we can put you in contact with translators who work into the language you need. We keep in regular contact with translation professionals based in nearly every European country.

When appropriate, we use computer-assisted translation tools (translation memories, databases, glossaries, etc.). We think that technology can support translation and help achieve the best degree of coherence, precision and speed.

Localisation is “taking a product and making it linguistically and culturally appropriate to the target locale (country/region and language) where it will be used and sold“. Localisation is used mostly for digital documentation (websites, apps, etc.).

Each project is unique. That is why we work with you, in order to define your needs and expectations and create the best framework for translation or localisation.

If needed, AltTrad can coordinate several translations. This can be used for example if you want a text to be translated into several languages, or if a tight deadline makes it necessary to call on several translators simultaneously. AltTrad will then manage your project, coordinate the work of everyone and ensure communication and quality.

Traduction & localisation

La traduction se fait exclusivement dans la langue maternelle du traducteur (en l’occurrence, le français), et ce depuis des langues extrêmement bien maîtrisées (en l’occurence l’anglais et l’italien). C’est pourquoi on parle de traduction de l’italien et de l’anglais en français.

Le traducteur doit maîtriser parfaitement la langue dans laquelle il écrit, afin d’éviter toute méprise, erreur ou malentendu. Cependant, si vous souhaitez faire traduire un texte depuis le français, nous pouvons vous mettre en contact avec des traducteurs travaillant vers la langue que vous désirez. Nous sommes bien évidemment en contact avec de nombreux professionnels de la traduction dans presque tous les pays européens.

Nous utilisons au besoin des outils informatiques d’aide à la traduction (mémoires de traduction, bases de données, glossaires…). Nous considérons que la technologie peut venir soutenir les opérations de traduction afin de garantir une cohérence, une précision et une vitesse optimales.

La localisation consiste à «prendre un produit et le rendre linguistiquement et culturellement adapté à la locale (langue, pays/région) où il sera vendu». On parle en particulier de localisation pour les documents informatiques (site internet, application…).

Pour nous, chaque projet est unique. C’est pourquoi nous discutons avec vous, en amont, afin de préciser vos besoins, vos attentes, et créer ainsi le meilleur cadre possible pour la traduction.

Au besoin, AltTrad peut coordonner plusieurs traductions. Cela peut par exemple être utile si vous souhaitez traduire un texte en plusieurs langues simultanément, ou si les délais imposés justifient le recours à plusieurs traducteurs. AltTrad agit alors en qualité de gestionnaire de projet, pour coordonner l’activité de plusieurs traducteurs, leur communication avec vous et garantir la qualité du produit fini.