Louis Tarpin

Born in France and first raised in Italy, Louis studied at the Cité Scolaire Internationale in Grenoble (Isère, France), where he passed the Cambridge English Advanced exams (equivalent to level C1) in 2008 and gained a literary baccalaureate, with an International Option and Italian, (equivalent to level C2) in 2009. He went on to study for five years in the Translation and Interpretation Department (formerly the Translation and Interpretation School) of the University of Geneva, Switzerland, where he obtained a bachelor’s degree in multilingual communication (2013) and a master’s in specialised translation (2014). His thesis focused on the similarities between literary translation and video game translation.

During his studies, Louis translated six American novels into French for an American publishing house, Dreamspinner Press. He has also translated numerous scientific articles and administrative texts for academic researchers in France, Italy, Switzerland and Finland, and he has edited work for other students. He established and presided over the Isère-based society Legend of the Dahu (currently on hold), which aims to promote digital gaming in France and for which he wrote the regulations. He also helped to build the website for the society, as well as successfully coordinating all preparations for the ‘Heart of the Dahu’ event held on 4 October 2014. Between 2009 and 2013, Louis worked on multiple occasions as a children’s group leader in various centres across the Savoie and Isère regions.

After graduating, Louis spent three months in Luxembourg as a trainee in the French Translation Unit of the European Parliament and three months as a trainee in Directorate B of the Directorate-General for Translation of the European Parliament.

He subsequently moved to Tallinn, Estonia, to study the language for several months, during which time he also volunteered at a literary festival, HeadRead. Simultaneously, he kept working as a freelance translator and created the company AltTrad and gave language lectures at the Estonian national academy of Theatre and Music.

Louis was also a founding member of the network IndieLocalizers and has curated one of their Twitter account. He created his own network of translators and proofreaders for many language pairs.

From April 2017 to December 2017, he worked as translator, proofreader and web editor for the Estonian Presidency of the Council of the European Union in Tallinn.

His full profile can be found on LinkedIn.

Degrees, certificates, awards
2008: Cambridge English: Advanced exams
2009: Literary baccalaureate, with International Option including Italian and a further English option
2010: Youth group leader qualification (Brevet d’aptitude à la fonction d’animateur, BAFA)
2012: Class-B driving licence
2013: Bachelor’s degree in multilingual communication, Translation and Interpretation Department, University of Geneva
2014: Master’s degree in translation, Translation and Interpretation Department, University of Geneva
2017: A2 level in Estonian (innove.ee)
2017: B1 level in Estonian (innove.ee)
2018: Best Estonian communication team for 2017, for the Estonian presidency of the Council of the EU

Working languages
French (mother tongue)
Italian (level C2)
English (level C2)

Other languages
Estonian (level B1)
Spanish (level A2–B1)
Finnish (level A1)

Areas of understanding
Translation theory
Linguistic theory
Communications
French law
Principles of international law
Principles of economics
HTML, XHTML, CSS
XML, XLIFF
SDL Trados Studio
Adobe Photoshop CS6
WordPress
Microsoft Office, OpenOffice

 

Experience
2009–2013: Various periods spent as a children’s group leader (Isère and Savoie).
2012–2014: Translation of various scientific articles (art history, history, etc.) for academic researchers in France, Switzerland, Italy and Finland.
2012: Translation of administrative documents for the University Pierre-Mendes France (Grenoble).
2012–2013: Translation of six novels from (American) English for Dreamspinner Press publishing house (USA).
2013–2014: Established and presided over non-profit society Legend of the Dahu; wrote the regulations, researched partnerships and hosted an e-sport event in a 330-person room in Grenoble (Isère, France).
2014: Three-month traineeship in the French Translation Unit of the European Parliament (Luxembourg).
2015: Three-month traineeship in Directorate B of the Directorate-General for Translation of the European Parliament (Luxembourg). Provided administrative assistance; created a web portal for trainees; updated the website of the Directorate-General; created a game for European Parliament open days; searched for contacts in translation-training environments across Europe; wrote articles on translation and on operations within the Directorate-General.
2015: Time spent in Estonia; volunteer at literary festival HeadRead, studied the culture and language, created contacts in the local literary community.
2015: Translation of European texts for the agency Verbivis
2015: Translation of 3 scientific articles for the conference “Extrêmismes ouest-européens et monde arabo-musulman” at the Université Pierre-Mendès France (Grenoble, France).
2016: Translation of confidential documents for Schneider Electric France (legal).
2016: Translation of several documents for a medical study (contracts, precautions of use, hardware preparation).
Since 2016: Translation of legal documents for the agency TheLanguageRoom.
2016: Volunteer at literary festival HeadRead, Twitter account management and guests relations.
2016-2017: Italian and French training at the Estonian national academy for Music and Theatre.
2017: Proofreading of a videogame with IndieLocalizers; proofreading of a cookbook for Varrak publishing house; translation of a marketing book on Ferrari for the Éditions du Chêne publishing house; translation of terms and conditions for transportation of fragile objects; translation of two websites (car industry and confidentiality apps); translation of three documents for the NGOs PAN-UK and Générations futures (environment/agrochemistry).
2017: Volunteer at literary festival HeadRead, Twitter account management and guests relations.
April 2017-December 2017: In-house translator at the Estonian chancellery (Riigikantselei), adviser, editor and co-administrator of the EU2017EE website, for the Estonian presidency of the Council of the EU.

Louis Tarpin

Français, Louis a d’abord vécu à Rome, où il a appris l’italien. Après un déménagement en France, il a fait ses études à la Cité Scolaire Internationale de Grenoble (Isère), où il a passé les examens du Cambridge Advanced English test (anglais, équivalant à un niveau C1) en 2008 et le Baccalauréat littéraire Option Internationale (italien, équivalant à un niveau C2) en 2009. Il a ensuite étudié 5 ans à la Faculté de traduction et d’interprétation (ex-École de traduction et d’interprétation) de l’Université de Genève (Suisse), où il a obtenu son Bachelor en communication multilingue (2013) et son Master en traduction spécialisée (2014). Son mémoire portait sur les parallèles entre la traduction littéraire et la localisation de jeux vidéo.

Durant ses études, Louis a traduit six romans américains en français pour le compte d’un éditeur américain, Dreamspinner Press. Il a par ailleurs traduit plusieurs articles scientifiques et plusieurs textes administratifs pour le compte d’enseignants-chercheurs français, italiens, suisses et finnois, et effectué plusieurs relectures pour d’autres étudiants. Il a également créé et présidé l’association iséroise Legend of the Dahu (actuellement inactive), qui cherchait à promouvoir le sport numérique (eSport) en France, et en a rédigé les statuts. Il a aussi participé activement à la création du site internet de l’association, et a bien entendu coordonné l’activité de toute l’association afin de mettre en place l’événement Heart of the Dahu, le 4 octobre 2014.

Après ses études, Louis a passé 3 mois en stage à l’unité française de la traduction au Parlement européen (Luxembourg) et 3 mois en stage à la Direction B de la Direction générale de la traduction au Parlement européen (Luxembourg).

Il a ensuite effectué un séjour linguistique de plusieurs mois à Tallinn (Estonie), où il a également été bénévole lors du festival littéraire HeadRead. Parallèlement, il a repris la traduction en tant qu’indépendant, en fondant l’entreprise AltTrad. Il a par ailleurs donné des cours de langue à l’Académie nationale estonienne de théâtre et de musique.

Louis a été l’un des membres fondateurs du réseau IndieLocalizers et a été administrateur d’un des comptes Twitter du réseau. Il s’est constitué un réseau de traducteurs et de localisateurs étendu, pour de nombreuses paires de langues.

De mi-avril à fin décembre 2017, il a travaillé comme traducteur, conseiller, relecteur et éditeur web pour la présidence estonienne du Conseil de l’Union européenne, à Tallinn.

Depuis août 2018, il est également enseignant de langues pour les forces armées estoniennes à Tartu.

Vous pouvez retrouver son profil complet sur LinkedIn.

 

Diplômes et brevets
2008: Cambridge Advanced English test
2009: Baccalauréat littéraire O.I.B. italien, option anglais renforcé
2010: Brevet d’aptitude à la fonction d’animateur (BAFA)
2012: Permis de conduire B
2013: Bachelor in multilingual communication, Faculté de traduction et d’interprétation de Genève
2014: Master in translation, Faculté de traduction et d’interprétation de Genève
2017: Diplôme d’estonien niveau A2 (innove.ee)
2017: Diplome d’estonien niveau B1 (innove.ee)
2018: Meilleure équipe de communication en Estonie, pour la présidence estonienne du Conseil de l’UE

Langues de travail
Français (langue maternelle)
Italien (niveau C2)
Anglais (niveau C2)

Autres langues
Estonien (niveau B1)
Espagnol (niveau A2-B1)
Finnois (niveau A1)

Connaissances
Théories linguistiques et de la traduction
Langages informatiques grand public (HTML, CSS, XML)
Outils d’aide à la traduction (mémoires de traduction, bases de données, SDL Studio, OmegaT)
Environnements WordPress et Drupal
Suites bureautiques grand public (MS Office, Open Office)
Notions d’Adobe Photoshop CS6
Stratégie et tactiques

Expériences
2009-2013: diverses périodes en tant qu’animateur jeunesse (Isère, Savoie).
2012-2014: traduction de divers articles scientifiques (histoire de l’art, histoire) pour des enseignants-chercheurs français, suisses, italiens et finnois.
2012: traduction de documents administratifs pour le compte de l’Université Pierre-Mendes France (Grenoble).
2012-2013: traduction de 6 romans de l’anglais (américain) pour le compte de l’éditeur Dreamspinner Press (USA).
2013-2014: création et présidence de l’association loi 1901 Legend of the Dahu; rédaction des statuts, recherche de partenariats et mise en place d’un évènement sportif (sport numérique ou e-sport) dans une salle de 330 places à Grenoble (Isère).
2014: 3 mois de stage à l’unité française de la traduction au Parlement européen (Luxembourg).
2015: 3 mois de stage à la Direction B de la Direction générale de la traduction au Parlement européen (Luxembourg). Assistance administrative; mise en place d’un portail dédié aux stagiaires; mise à jour du site de la Direction générale; création d’un jeu destiné aux Journées portes ouvertes du Parlement européen; recherche des contacts de toutes les formations en traduction en Europe; rédaction d’articles portant sur la traduction ou l’administration de la Direction générale.
2015: séjour en Estonie; bénévolat pour le festival littéraire HeadRead, apprentissage linguistique et culturel, contacts avec la communauté littéraire locale.
Depuis 2015: traductions pour le compte de l’agence Verbivis (textes européens).
2015: traduction d’articles scientifiques pour l’Université Pierre-Mendès France (colloque «Extrémismes ouest-européens et monde arabo-musulman»).
2016: traduction de documents sensibles pour Schneider Electric France (juridique).
2016: traduction de plusieurs documents pour une étude médicale (contrats, précautions, préparation du matériel).
Depuis 2016: traduction de contrats variés pour l’agence TheLanguageRoom.
2016: bénévole pour le festival littéraire HeadRead, gestion de leur compte Twitter.
2016-2017: enseignant d’italien et de français au conservatoire de musique et de théâtre d’Estonie.
2017: relecture d’un jeu vidéo avec l’association IndieLocalizers, relecture d’un livre de cuisine pour les éditions Varrak, traduction d’une partie d’un livre promotionnel Ferrari pour les Éditions du Chêne, de conditions de vente pour une société de transports d’objets délicats, de deux sites internet (technique-automobile et applications de confidentialité), de trois documents pour les associations PAN-UK et Générations futures (environnement-agrochimie)
2017: bénévole pour le festival littéraire HeadRead, gestion de leur compte Twitter.
Avril 2017-décembre 2017: emploi auprès de la chancellerie estonienne (Riigikantselei); traduction, conseil, rédaction, relecture et co-gestion du site de la présidence estonienne du Conseil de l’Union européenne.
Août 2018-décembre 2018: enseignant de français et d’anglais auprès des forces armées estoniennes.